IPL RecordsSlowest Century in IPL History - Top 15

Slowest Century in IPL History – Top 15

In the IPL, a cricket league, batsmen try to score runs fast because it is what they are supposed to do in international T20 competitions. But sometimes, because of poor batting conditions or pressure, batsmen play very slowly and require a lot of balls to score a century in IPL. This slowest hundred consequently has the lowest team run rate and lowest total.

While maintaining the lowest run rate, batters occasionally lose their wicket. But, sometimes, they continue to bat and score fifty and a century. Jos Buttler, David Warner and Sachin Tendulkar are the batters who have scored the slowest centuries in IPL.
In this article, we will look at batters with the slowest centuries in IPL history. All those batters will be sorted on the base of strike rate.

Read More: Slowest Fifties in IPL

Manish Pandey100671491032009
David Warner10066151962010
Sachin Tendulkar100661513122011
Jos Buttler100661511152022
Kevin Pietersen10064156662012
KL Rahul100631631242022
Virat Kohli100631581112016
KL Rahul10063158662019
Ambati Rayudu10062162772018
L Simmons100611631422014
Ben Stokes10061163762017
Sanju Samson10061163852017
Shane Watson10060166462013
Shaun Marsh100581721062008
Chris Gayle100581721112018
Slowest Century in IPL

Manish Pandey – 67 Balls

In IPL, Manish Pandey is the first Indian player to score a century and is also slowest century maker in IPL. He hit a century in the IPL season in 2009 against Deccan Chargers. He scored 100 runs on 67 balls with a 149 batting strike rate. He hit ten fours and three sixes in his outstanding innings that helped his team, post a total of 170 runs. In reply, Deccan Chargers lost this match by 12 runs against RCB.

Jos Buttler – 66 Balls

Jos Buttler has scored the slowest century in IPL 2022. He took 66 balls to score 100 in last IPL season. Due to his superb century, Rajasthan Royals scored a total of 194 runs against Mumbai Indians. In reply, Mumbai Indians could not chase the target in the required 20 overs. Mumbai Indians lost this match by 20 runs. Jos Buttler was announced as the player of the match for his extraordinary performance.

Sachin Tendulkar – 66 Balls

Sachin Tendulkar has a lot of international centuries to his name. Similarly, he also holds the record for scoring a century in his IPL career. He scored this century on 66 balls for Mumbai Indians. His century strike rate at the time he scored a century was 151. In scoring this century, he hit three fours and six sixes. Despite Sachin’s century helping MI to a total of 182, MI was unable to win this match. To chase the target, the opposing team Kochi Tuskes Kerala batted brilliantly.

Read More: Most Wins in IPL


David Warner – 66 Balls

David Warner is regarded as a quick batter to score runs, but he also has the slowest IPL century to his name. He scored 100 runs on 66 balls with a strike rate of 151. In his innings, he hit nine fours and six sixes. As a result of his win, he was named player of the match. David Warner’s team Delhi Daredevils scored a total of 177 runs for the loss of 04 wickets in 20 overs. 

In reply, KKK could not chase the target and lost the match by 40 runs.

Kevin Pietersen – 64 Balls

Kevin Pietersen scored slowest century in IPL 2012. He scored 100 runs on 64 balls with a strike rate of 156. In this match, he hit six sixes and six fours. He was announced as player of the match. 

KL Rahul – 63 Balls

KL Rahul is one of the best batsmen in IPL history. In a game against Mumbai Indians for Kings XI Punjab in IPL 2009, he scored the IPL’s slowest century. He hit 100 runs on 63 balls with a strike rate of 158. He hit 06 centuries and 06 fours for this superb century. KL Rahul was announced as man of the match for his superb innings. 

Virat Kohli  – 63 Balls

Virat Kohli has his name among the slowest century makers in IPL. He had a successful IPL 2016 season, scoring many hundreds and fifty runs. One of his centuries came against Gujrat Lions on 63 balls, his slowest century in IPL. He hit 11 sixes and 01 four with a recorded strike rate of 158. He was announced as man of the match for his outstanding performance with the bat. Although Kohli put his effort with the bat, but his team RCB failed to win this match.

Html code here! Replace this with any non empty raw html code and that's it.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular