IPL RecordsMost Ducks in IPL History

Most Ducks in IPL History

A duck is a rare circumstance that any batsman in cricket should deal with. The IPL scenario is unchanged due to the pressure issue. Any batsman in the IPL faces numerous obstacles, and scoring quick runs is one of the biggest challenges. Therefore, there is always a big risk associated with scoring quick runs, and one of those risks is losing wickets without scoring any runs.
Nothing is more discouraging in a cricket league like the IPL than getting a duck. Therefore, every batter tries his best to save himself from the duck. Cricket supporters criticize any batter with a high number of ducks, which demotivates the batter. Receiving a duck hurts not only the batter but the entire team. Sometimes, it results in the destruction of the entire batting lineup.
Overall team performance is also affected by a huge number of ducks. Any batter should therefore want to avoid going out on the duck.
Golden ducks happen when a batter loses their wicket on the first ball of the IPL innings. Similarly, a silver duck occurs when a batter loses their wicket on the second ball of the IPL innings. When any opening batter loses a wicket on the first ball of innings, then it is called a Royal duck.
In this article, we will explore deep about the ducks and golden ducks in IPL history.

Mandeep Singh14
Rohit Sharma14
Piyush Chawla13
Harbhajan Singh13
Dinesh Karthik13
Parthive Patel13
Ajinkaya Rahane13
Ambati Rayudu13
Gautam Gambhir 12
Glenn Maxwell 12
Sunil Narine12
Manish Pandey12
Rashid Khan 12
Most Ducks in IPL History 2008 to 2023

Top Five Batters with Highest Ducks in IPL

Mandeep Singh

Mandeep Singh is an Indian cricketer who has played for various teams in the Indian Premier League. He made his IPL debut in 2010 with Kolkata Knight Riders. Mandeep Singh has the highest number of ducks 14 in IPL. His seasonal ducks are as follows;

most ducks in ipl mandeep singh

Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma is one of the most successful Indian batters in the IPL. He has played the majority of IPL matches for Mumbai Indians. He holds 14 ducks in his IPL career. Most of his IPL ducks came for Mumbai Indians. His seasonal IPL ducks are as follows;

rohit sharma ipl ducks

Piyush Chawla

Indian cricketer Piyush Chawla has a fantastic career in the Indian Premier League. He has participated in the IPL since the start of the tournament in 2008 and is primarily a leg-spinner representing various franchises in IPL. Piyush Chawla has 13 ducks to his name in IPL. His seasonal ducks stats are as follows;

piyush chawla ipl ducks

Harbhajan Singh

Over the years, Harbhajan Singh has played in the Indian Premier League for distinct franchises. He began his IPL career with the Mumbai Indians in the team’s first season in 2008, and he stayed with the group until 2017, directly contributing to their success by helping them with IPL championships.

Read More: Most Wickets in IPL

harbhajan singh ipl ducks

Dinesh Karthik

Indian cricketer Dinesh Karthik has participated in the Indian Premier League since it began in 2008. Over the years, he has served as a player for a number of teams, including the Delhi Daredevils (now the Delhi Capitals), Kings XI Punjab, Mumbai Indians, Gujarat Lions, Kolkata Knight Riders, and the Punjab Kings.

Read More: Most Matches Played for a Team in IPL

dinesh karthik ipl ducks

Most Ducks as Captain in IPL

Gautam Gambhir has the most ducks as captain in IPL. He lost his wicket at zero ten times for KKR from 2011 to 2016. He struggles against bowlers from Mumbai Indians as they succeeded to get his wicket three times.

Rohit Sharma from Mumbai Indians has 9 ducks IPL and Shram is only one duck away to equal this record. Below is the list of the top 5 captains with highest IPL ducks.

CaptainTeamDucks (0)Span
Gautam GambhirKKR102009-2018
Rohit SharmaMI92013-2023
Adam GilchristDC, Kings XI72008-2013
Shane WarneRR72008-2011
Ravichandaran AshwinKings XI52018-2019
Virat KohliRCB52011-2021
Most Ducks as Captain in IPL

Most Golden Ducks in IPL

When a batter gets out on the first ball of the innings then this type of duck is known as a Golden duck. Joe Denly, Sunny Gupta, Shivil Kaushik, Sandeep Lamichane, Chetanya Nanda, V Pratap Singh, and Yash Dayal scored golden ducks in the IPL.

Joe DenlyKKR2019
Sunny GuptaDD2012
Shivil KaushikGL2016
Sandeep LamichaneDC2018
Chetanya NandaMI2009
V Pratap SinghDC2012
Yash DayalGT2022
All Golden Ducks in IPL

Most Silver Ducks in IPL

When any batter gets out on the second ball of innings then this is known as a silver duck. Four batters in IPL have silver ducks in IPL history. Here is the list of Silver Duck holders in the IPL.

R Bhatkal2022RCB
I Pandey2013PW
S Cottrell2020PBKS
R Sanjay Yadav2022-2022MI
Siler Ducks List in IPL

Royal Ducks in IPL

When any opening batter lost its wicket on the first ball of the innings then this type of duck is known as Royal Duck. Only one batter in IPL history has Royals duck in IPL.

Joe Denly from KKR is the only batter with royal duck in IPL. He lost his wicket on the first ball to Ishant Sharma from Dehli Capitals.

Joe DenlyKKRIshant Sharma2019
Royals duck in IPL
Html code here! Replace this with any non empty raw html code and that's it.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular