IPL RecordsIPL Playoff History - List of Teams Qualify from 2008 - 2023

IPL Playoff History – List of Teams Qualify from 2008 – 2023

Reaching the playoff stage of IPL is the ultimate goal for any IPL franchise. Only the top four teams from each group of league matches advance to the IPL playoff stage. The playoff stage is one of the most difficult but attainable goals for any IPL franchise. Of course, why would it not be? Entering the playoff stage has its own unique benefits for each IPL team.
Firstly, the biggest advantage of playing in the playoffs is the huge amount of prize money that helps the team owner, management, and player financially. Secondly, playing in the IPL playoffs provides a chance and a pathway to reach the final of the IPL, which enable team to win more money. Thirdly, IPL playoffs are a source of increasing the long-lasting brand value of any franchise that made it to the playoffs stage.

Some Curious Stats About IPL Playoff History

ipl playoff history stats, records
  • Chennai Super Kings have played most 24 playoffs in the history of IPL.
  • Suresh Raina has scored most runs in IPL Playoffs, which are 714 runs in 24 matches.
  • Suresh Raina also has the most sixes (40) and most fours (51) to his name in Playoff matches.
  • MS Dhoni has the most wins (15) as captain in playoff.
  • In the same way, he has the most losses (09) as playoffs captain.
  • Virender Sehwag scored highest individual score of 122 versus Chennai Super Kings in 2014 season playoffs.
  • Dwayne Bravo has taken most wickets (28) in Playoff matches of IPL.
  • Jasprit Bumrah, Rashid Khan and Ryan Harris have bowled most maidens (02) in the Playoffs.
  • Wankhede Stadium has hosted most playoff matches of 09. 
  •  Now, we will look at the major playoff stats and leaders in the history of IPL.
Playoff RecordsPlayers / Team / VenueNumbers
Most Playoffs RunsSuresh Raina714 Runs in 24 Playoffs
Most Playoffs FoursSuresh Raina51 Fours
Most Playoffs SixesSuresh Raina40 Sixes
Most Playoffs WicketsDwayne Bravo28 Wickets
Most Playoffs CenturiesW Saha (1), V Sehwag (1), M Vijay (1), S Watson (1)04
Team with most PlayoffsChennai Super Kings24
Most Wins in PlayoffsChennai Super Kings15
Most loss in PlayoffsChennai & Delhi09
Highest total in Playoffs226/6 by Kings XI Punjab Vs CSK (2014)226/6 (20 overs)
Highest Individual ScoreVirender Sewag (KXIP)122 Vs CSK in 2014
Grounds with most PlayoffsWankhede Stadium09
Most Maiden Bowled Jasprit Bumrah, Rashid Khan, R Harris02
Captain with Most WinsMS Dhoni15
Captain with most lossesMS Dhoni09
IPL Playoff Stats

IPL 2023 Playoff Teams

TeamsMatchesWonLostNet Run RatePoints
Playoff Teams in IPL 2023

IPL 2022 Playoff Teams

Gujarat Titans, Lucknow Super Giants, Rajasthan Royals, and Royal Challengers Bangalore were the playoff teams of the 2022 IPL season. In the end, Gujarat Titans won the final against the Runner Up team Rajasthan Royals.

TeamsMatchesWonLostNet Run RatePoints
Gujarat Titans141040.31620
Rajasthan Royals14950.29818
Lucknow Super Giants14950.25118
Royal Challengers Bangalore1486-0.25316
Playoff Teams in IPL 2022

IPL 2021 Playoff Teams

TeamsMatchesWonLostNe t Run RatePoints
Delhi Capitals141040.48120
Chennai Super Kings14950.45518
Royal Challengers Bangalore1495-0.1418
Kolkata Knight Riders14770.58714
Playoff Teams in IPL 2021

IPL 2020 Playoff Teams

TeamsMatchesWonLostNet Run RatePoints
Mumbai Indians14951.10718
Delhi Capitals1486-0.10916
Sunrisers Hyderabad14770.60814
Royal Challengers Bangalore1477-0.17214
Playoff Teams in IPL 2020

IPL 2019 Playoff Teams

TeamsMatchesWonLostNet Run RatePoints
Mumbai Indians14950.42118
Chennai Super Kings14950.13118
Delhi Capitals14950.04418
Sunrisers Hyderabad14680.57712
Playoff Teams in IPL 2019

IPL 2018 Playoff Teams

TeamsMatchesWonLostNet Run RatePoints
Sunrisers Hyderabad149500.28418
Chennai Super Kings149500.25318
Kolkata Knight Riders14860-0.0716
Rajasthan Royals14770-0.2514
Playoff Teams in IPL 2018

IPL 2017 Playoff Teams

TeamsMatchesWonLostN/RNet Run RatePoints
Mumbai Indians1410400.78420
Rising Pune Supergiant149500.17618
Sunrisers Hyderabad148510.59917
Kolkata Knight Riders148600.64116
Playoff Teams in IPL 2017

IPL 2016 Playoff Teams

TeamsMatchesWonLostNet Run RatePoints
Gujarat Lions1495-0.37418
Royal Challengers Bangalore14860.93216
Sunrisers Hyderabad14860.24516
Kolkata Knight Riders14860.10616
Playoff Teams in IPL 2016

IPL 2015 Playoff Teams

TeamsMatchesWonLostN/RNet Run RatePoints
Chennai Super Kings149500.70918
Mumbai Indians14860-0.04316
Royal Challengers Bangalore147521.03716
Rajasthan Royals147520.06216
Playoff Teams in IPL 2015

IPL 2014 Playoff Teams

TeamsMatchesWonLostNet Run RatePoints
Kings XI Punjab141130.96822
Kolkata Knight Riders14950.41818
Chennai Super Kings14950.38518
Mumbai Indians14770.09514
Playoff Teams in IPL 2014

IPL 2013 Playoff Teams

TeamsMatchesWonLostNet Run RatePoints
Chennai Super Kings161150.5322
Mumbai Indians161150.44122
Rajasthan Royals161060.32220
Sunrisers Hyderabad161060.00320
Playoff Teams in IPL 2013

IPL 2012 Playoff Teams

TeamsMatchesWonLostN/RNet Run RatePoints
Delhi Daredevils1611500.61722
Kolkata Knight Riders1610510.56121
Mumbai Indians161060-0.120
Chennai Super Kings168710.117
Playoff Teams in IPL 2012

IPL 2011 Playoff Teams

TeamMatchesWonLostN/RNet Run RatePoints
Royal Challengers Bangalore149410.32619
Chennai Super Kings149500.44318
Mumbai Indians149500.0418
Kolkata Knight Riders148600.43316
Playoff Teams in IPL 2011

IPL 2010 Playoff Teams

TeamsMatchesWonLostN/RNet Run RatePoints
Mumbai Indians1410401.08420
Deccan Chargers14860-0.29716
Chennai Super Kings147700.27414
Royal Challengers Bangalore147700.21914
Playoff Teams in IPL 2010

IPL 2009 Playoff Teams

TeamsMatchesWonLostN/RNet Run RatePoints
Delhi Daredevils1410400.31120
Chennai Super Kings148510.95117
Royal Challengers Bangalore14860-0.19116
Deccan Chargers147700.20314
Playoff Teams in IPL 2009

IPL 2008 Playoff Teams

TeamsMatchesWonLostN/RNet Run RatePoints
Rajasthan Royals1411300.63222
Kings XI Punjab1410400.50920
Chennai Super Kings14860-0.19216
Delhi Daredevils147610.34215
Playoff Teams in IPL 2008
Html code here! Replace this with any non empty raw html code and that's it.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular