PSL RecordsPSL Winners List Year Wise

PSL Winners List Year Wise

PSL winners list consist of all team featured in the tournament from 2016 to 2023. PSL is one of the most competitive Cricket leagues in the world. Every sport or tournament is challenging when all the teams have equal opportunities to win the title.

As we have seen throughout the PSL journey, no one can guess who will win the trophy. Each team has won a PSL trophy, whether it is Peshawar Zalmi, Lahore Qalandars, Karachi King, Islamabad United, Quetta Gladiators, or the new franchise Multan Sultans.

Here is the complete List of PSL Trophy winners Year Wise for each season from 2016 to 2023.

YearSeasonFinalistWinnerRunnerTargetWon ByCaptainVenue
2016PSL 1QG vs IUIslamabad UnitedQuetta Gladiators174/7IU Won by 6 WicketsMisbah-Ul-HaqDubai
2017PSL 2PZ vs QGPeshawar ZalmiQuetta Gladiators148/6PZ Won by 58 RunsDaren SammyLahore
2018PSL 3PZ vs IUIslamabad UnitedPeshawar Zalmi148/6IU won by 3 WicketsJp DuminyKarachi
2019PSL 4PZ vs QGQuetta GladiatorsPeshawar Zalmi138/8QG Won by 8 WicketsSarfaraz AhmadKarachi
2020PSL 5LQ vs KKKarachi KingsLahore Qalandars134/7KK Won by 5 WicketsImad WasimKarachi
2021PSL 6MS vs PZMultan SultansPeshawar Zalmi206/4MS Won by 47 RunsMuhammad RizwanAbu Dhabi
2022PSL 7LQ vs MSLahore QalandarsMultan Sultans180/5LQ Won by 42 RunsShaheen AfridiLahore
PSL Winners List by Each Year and Season Wise 2016-2023

PSL 1 Winner 2016

Islamabad United won the first season of PSL held in UAE in 2016. In the Final, Islamabad United beat Quetta Gladiators by six wickets.
Quetta Set a total of 174 runs, including majestic fifties of Ahmed Shahzad and Kumar Sangakkara. Muhammad Irfan was the leading wicket-taker with two wickets in the Final for IU.
Islamabad United chased down this target in 18.4 Over with eight balls spare. Seventy-three runs by Dwayne Smith and 61 by Brad Haddin helped IU to chase this.
Dwayne Smith was announced as the player of the match, and Ravi Boppara as the Player of the tournament for his 329 runs and eleven wickets.

PSL 1 Winner and Runners up

PSL 2 Winner 2017

Peshawar Zalmi won the second season of the Pakistan Super League. In the final, they beat Quetta Gladiators by 58 runs. QG lost his second consecutive final of the league. Last time IU beat them in the final.
Peshawar Zalmi set a total of 148 runs for five wickets in the final. The bowlers from QG successfully restrict them to an achievable total. As no batter could score a fifty for Peshawar Zalmi, Kamran Akmal was the highest runs scorer with 40 runs. Rayad Emrit took three wickets by conceding only 30 runs.
QG’s batting line collapsed, and the whole squad returned to the pavilion after scoring only 90 runs in sixteen overs. Muhammad Asghar (3 Wickets), Wahab Riaz (2 Wickets), and Hassan Ali (2 Wickets) bowled well.
Darren Sammy won the award for man of the match for his quick 28 runs, while Kamran Akmal was man of the tournament.

PSL 2 Winner and Runners up

PSL 3 Winner 2018

Islamabad United and Peshawar Zalmi became the finalist for the second time in league history. Both teams won the title in 2016 and 2017, respectively. So this was the battle for both teams to show which team was more destructive.
Peshawar Zalmi bated first and set a total of 148 runs for Islamabad United. That was quickly chased down by the united’s in the 17th over.
Chris Jordan was the top performer from Peshawar Zalmi. He scored 36 runs and took two wickets.
Luke Ronchi and Sahibzada Farhan set the tone and scored runs with the highest strike rate. Farhan lost his wicket for 44 runs, while Ronchi scored fifty-two on 26 balls. Asif gave the final touch by scoring destructive 26 runs on six balls, including three big sixes.
All this helped Islamabad United to win PSL 3 and their second title in the league.

PSL 2018 Winner and Runners up

PSL 4 Winner 2019

In PSL 4, Quetta Gladiators and Peshawar Zalmi reached the final again, like in 2017, when Peshawar won the title.
This was the third time Quetta reached the final of PSL. This season Quetta Beat Peshawar Zlami in the final and broke the norm.
In the final of PSL 2019, Peshawar Zalmi scored 138 runs in 20 overs. That was chased down by Gladiators in the 18th over. QG bowling was up to the mark as their bowler restricted PZ at a low total. Muhammad Husnain bowled a traffic spell and took three wickets by conceding 30 runs.
In run Chase, Ahmad Shahzad’s fifty and Rilee Rossouw’s 39 runs helped Quetta to achieve this total.
Muhammad Husnain won player of the match, and Shane Watson won for player of the tournament award.

PSL 4 Winner and Runners up

PSL 5 Winner 2020

Karachi Kings won PSL 5 by beating Lahore Qalandars in the final. Although Multan Sultan was the most successful team throughout the tournament. But Qalandar’s won the semi-final against them by 25 runs.
Most of the matches during this season were high scoring. But in the final, spectators watch a low-scoring game.
Where Lahore scores only 134 runs in 20 overs. The Kings chased that down in the 19th over by losing only five wickets.

Babar Azam was the most prominent player of the match as he played a sensible inning of 63 runs with a strike rate of 129. He won both awards, player of the match and tournament.

Karachi Kings won PSL 5 by beating LQ.

PSL 6 Winner 2021

PSL 6 was won by Multan Sultans. They beat Peshawar Zalmi in the final played in Abu Dhabi. Multan Sultan’s set a big total of 206 runs, the highest total by any team in the PSL final. Peshawar Zalmi managed to score only 159 runs allocated overs. As a result, MS won this game by 47 runs.
Sohaib Maqsood and Rilee Rossouw played a vital role in their win, scoring the fifties with a strike rate of 180+. Rilee lost his wicket to Sameen after scoring fifty runs, while Maqsood remains not out with 65 runs. Sameen Gul and Muhammad Imran took two wickets each for PZ.
Shoaib Malik’s 48 and Kamran Akmal’s 36 runs could not help them to chase this total.

This season was affected by Covid as initial matches were played in Pakistan, but later, PCB transferred the remaining games to UAE.

psl 6 Winner is Multan Sultans

PSL 7 Winner 2022

Lahore Qalandars won PSL 7 2022 with 42 runs. Lahore Qalandars scored 180 for 5 in twenty overs and restricted Multan Sultan to 138 runs.
This was the second consecutive final for Sultans. They have a chance to equal’s IU’s records for most titles won by any team in PSL. But LQs make this impossible with their deadly dangerous bowling attack.
After losing wickets early, Muhammad Hafeez and Harry Brooks took charge and scored 69 and 41, respectively. David Wiese smashed 28 for eight at the end. Asif Afridi was the leading wicket-taker for MS in the final.
Khushdil Shah is the only player who scores thirty-plus runs for the Sultans in the final. Shaheen Afridi got three wickets, while Muhammad Hafeez and Zaman Khan took two.
Muhammad Hafeez was announced man of the match for his all-round performance in the match. While Muhammad Rizwan gets player of the tournament for 546 runs in the season.

Lahore Qalandars won PSL 7.

PSL 8 Winner 2023

PSL 8 will be played in February 2023 in Pakistan. So, we have to wait till March for the Winner f PSL 8.


Which team has played most PSL Finals?

Peshawar Zalmi has qualified most times (4) for PSL final. But they won only one title in 2017 by beating IU.

Which team lost most PSL Finals?

Peshawar Zalmi lost 3 PSL finals. In 2016, they lost against IU, in 2019 against QG, and 2021 against MS.

Html code here! Replace this with any non empty raw html code and that's it.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular