ODI WorldCup 2023Which Country has Hosted the Most Cricket World Cups?

Which Country has Hosted the Most Cricket World Cups?

England has hosted the most (06) Cricket World Cups (05 ODIs + 1 T20I ) in cricket history. India ranked at number 02 position on the list with 05 World Cups (04 ODIs + 1 T20I). 

In 2023, India will host the 05th Cricket World Cup. All the cricket fans are very passionate about this World Cup, which will be a source of entertainment for fans. 

First three ODI World Cups from 1975 to 1979 were hosted by England. Following this, other countries were given the opportunity to host the event. Hence, India and Pakistan jointly hosted the 1987 ODI World Cup. As cricket began to spread to other countries, such as Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, they hosted this event as well.

Similarly, the first T20 World Cup was hosted by South Africa in 2007. Later on, other countries also hosted this event which contributed to the overall cricket growth.

Here is the cricket World Cup host countries list since 1976.

CountryODI WC HostedT20 WC HostedTotal WC Hosted
England1975, 1979, 1983, 1999, 2019 (5)2009 (1)06
India1987, 1996, 2011, 2023 (4)2016 (1)05
Pakistan1987, 1996  (2)(0)02
Sri Lanka1996, 2011 (2)2012 (1)03
Australia1992, 2015 (2)2022 (1)03
New Zealand1992, 2015 (2)(0)02
South Africa2003 (1)2007(1)02
Bangladesh2011 (1)2014 (1)02
West Indies2007 (1)2010 (1)02
Zimbabwe2003 (1)(0)01
Wales1999 (1), 2019 (1)(0)02
Kenya2003 (1)(0)01
Scotland1999 (1)(0)01
Netherland & Ireland 1999 (1)(0)01
List of Cricket World Cup Hosts

The ODI World Cup has been hosted multiple times in the past by England, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Australia, and New Zealand. These countries have been the main host for many World Cups.

Countries such as Zimbabwe, Scotland, the Netherlands, Wales, and Kenya were consistently acting as sub-hosts in this field.

Cricket World Cup Hosted by Pakistan

Pakistan Co-hosted two cricket World Cups, 1987 and 1996. They were supposed to host the 2011 World Cup, but they were unable to do so due to security concerns. Hence, India, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh hosted the 2011 ODI World Cup.

Cricket World Cup Hosted by India

India hosted the 1987, 1996, and 2011 ODI World Cup. The next ODI World Cup 2023 will be hosted by India. It will be India’s fourth ODI World Cup and the first time the country will be the sole host. 

Cricket World Cup Hosted by Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka hosted the 1996 and 2011 cricket World Cup. Sri Lanka was the winner of the 1996 ODI World Cup. 

Html code here! Replace this with any non empty raw html code and that's it.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular