ODI WorldCup 2023How Many Times India has Won ODI World Cup?

How Many Times India has Won ODI World Cup?

India has won the One-Day International (ODI) Cricket World Cup on two occasions in 1983 and 2011. Kapil Dev was India’s first World Cup-winning captain of the team in 1983, and MS Dhoni became the second in 2011. 

A lot of cricket supporters compare Kapil Dev and MS Dhoni’s achievements as World Cup captains. Some believe Kapil Dev to be the greatest Indian World Cup captain, while others believe MS Dhoni is far more outstanding. However, both were excellent captains in their own circumstances and the moment. 

Kapil Dev led Indian team that didn’t have stars such as Sachin Tendulkar and Virat Kohli. He led a team that was very weak and was considered very low-ranked in that era.

On the other hand, MS Dhoni captained a relatively strong team with global stars and legends. But in the end, it was his individual captaincy record that helped India lift the trophy after 28 years.

So, each cricket World Cup has its own aspects, and the same was correct for both of these World Cups. 

The World Cup in 1983 marked the beginning of a true cricket revolution in India. While the 2011 World Cup takes this revolution and craze to its highest point ever.

Now we will look at the Indian team’s performance in World Cup history.

ODI World Cup 1983

The official name of World Cup 1983 was Prudential World Cup played in England. Team India played a total of  08 matches in 1983 World Cup winning 06 and losing 02. Two matches that Team India lost were in the group stage against West Indies and Australia. All eight World Cup matches were played against the West Indies, Zimbabwe, Australia, and England. Here are the overall stats of Team India in WC 1983.

MatchesWonLostWin %W/L RatioNR

In group stage, India lost the match against Australia and West Indies. They proceed to the final and faced West Indies which was an unbeaten team of that era. The World Cup final in 1983 is remembered as the most thrilling final in World Cup history. The West Indies were considered favorites because they were the defending champions, having won two World Cups.

Team India beat the West Indies by 43 runs to lift the trophy. At that time, it was considered as an upsetting defeat in cricket history. Amarnath from India was announced as man of the match in the final of 1983 World Cup. 

Here is the result of all of the team India matches of 1983 World Cup.

09 JuneWIManchesterIND34 Runs1983
11 JuneZIMLeicesterIND05 Wickets1983
13 JuneAUSNottinghamAUS162 Runs1983
15 JuneWIThe OvalWI66 Runs1983
18 JuneZIMTunbridge WellsIND31 Runs1983
20 JuneAUSChelmsfordIND118 Runs1983
22 JuneENGManchesterIND06 Wickets1983
25 JuneWILord’sIND43 Runs1983
Result of All Matches of India in ODI World Cup 1983

The 1983 victory laid the path for India’s subsequent growth as a dominant force worldwide in cricket.

ODI World Cup 2011

Team India played a total of 09 matches in 2011 ODI World Cup winning 07  and losing 01. All credit goes to MS Dhoni for his exceptional captaincy skills, which helped India defeat major competitors at home. Team India won the World Cup in 2011 due to the efforts of star players such as Yuvraj Singh and Sachin Tendulkar.

MatchesWonLostWin %W/L RatioNR

Not only legendary players but youngsters such as Virat Kohli led from the front to help seniors set the winning momentum. 

At the end of the World Cup, Yuvraj Singh was announced as the player of the tournament for his superb batting performance in World Cup 2011. No one can deny the fact that it was actually Yuvraj Singh’s batting performance against Australia that helped India win the Quarterfinal of WC 2011. Now, We will look at the Individual performance of the Indian team in each match of the World Cup 2011.

19 Feb 2011BangladeshIndiaMirpur87 runs
27 Feb 2011EnglandTiedBengaluru
6 Mar 2011IrelandIndiaBengaluru5 wickets
9 Mar 2011NetherlandsIndiaDelhi5 wickets
12 Mar 2011South AfricaSouth AfricaNagpur3 wickets
20 Mar 2011West IndiesIndiaChennai80 runs
24 Mar 2011AustraliaIndiaAhmedabad5 wickets
30 Mar 2011PakistanIndiaMohali29 runs
2 Apr 2011Sri LankaIndiaWankhede6 wickets
Result of All Matches of India in ODI World Cup 2011

Team India played against 09 different oppositions in World Cup 2011. They lost only one match against South Africa at Nagpur on 12 March 2011. It was an unexpected defeat that hurt Indian fans all over the world. But they recovered very well to face other teams in upcoming matches such as Australia and Pakistan. They defeated Pakistan in the semi-finals after playing exceptionally well. They beat Sri Lanka in the final to win the World Cup for the second time in the World of cricket.

The 2011 Cricket World Cup was an unforgettable competition filled with outstanding play, thrilling meets, and superior cricket.


How many times India has been World Cup?

India has participated in all ICC ODI world cups from 1975 to 2023.

How many times does India qualify for ODI World Cup final?

Three times Team India qualify for the final of ICC ODI WC. They won the title in 1983 and 2011 but lost against Australia by 125 runs in 2003 under the captaincy of Sourav Ganguly.

Html code here! Replace this with any non empty raw html code and that's it.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular